Posted by: mommytoo | January 20, 2009

dob

so here’s a pic of my new body art!

tattoo by you.

it’s on my right shoulder, right on top, among many freckles and birthmarks.  i chose that shoulder because my other one has even more birthmarks!  the design is a symbol of family.  i wanted to get something for nate and/or for d, but decided against their names, initials, whatever — a symbol is more special and personal.  all of my tattoos (3 all together) are really small, just black line drawings, and each took about 5-7 minutes to do!  i’m not really that tough.

i share a birthday with martin luther king, which is very special to me.  i feel very strongly about him, and i wish we all talked more about the fact that he wasn’t just about civil rights for african americans, he worked to end the vietnam war, and for union rights, to fight poverty, unemployment, lack of education.  he became more and more leftist, and i wish we could all see where he would have gone if he’d lived longer.  i love that his final fight – when he was killed in memphis – was on behalf of a union of sanitation workers.

i wanted to share an mlk quote, but i can’t choose a favorite.  his last speech is the one that moves me most, which is weird because it’s really religious – more specifically, christian –  and i don’t even believe in god, nor do i identify as christian.  i just can’t get over how prophetic he was in that last speech, and watching the footage, i get crazy goose bumps all up my arms and neck.  just wrap your head around the fact that he made this speech the night before he was assassinated — his last public words.

Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people will get to the promised land. And I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.

king also spoke a lot about how during a struggle, the silence of friends can be worse than the words of enemies (i’m paraphrasing), and how important it is to say something when you know that it’s wrong.  another theme i’m trying to remember is the uphill battle he was waging, how he accepted that it would be a long one, change comes from struggle, it’s important not to let anyone beat you down while you do that work.  as we go into this inauguration that is bittersweet for me, i’m thinking about all that.

i will step down off my soapbox in a few minutes, but i also wanted to mention an interview i heard today with congressman john lewis, who worked closely with dr king, as well as rfk.  he has spoken out in favor of gay marriage, and believes that mlk would have, as well.  he said that dr king used to say that two races don’t fall in love, two people do (back before interracial marriage was allowed).  it somehow applies to my relationship, as well.  like most smart people, mr lewis didn’t seem to understand how gay marriage threatens the institution of marriage.

we now return to our previously scheduled programming — my life as a mama.  here’s a pic of a jam session over the weekend:

one man band 1 by you.

Responses

  1. Thanks for that, Kira. I love Rep. Lewis. I’ve voted for him many times. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

